Published On: Wed, Feb 19th, 2014

Tamil Nadu govt decides to release all seven killers of Rajiv Gandhi

New Delhi (Feb 19th) SNS :- The convicts in the Rajiv Gandhi assassination case would be freed, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa said today.

Announcing the governments decision in the assembly, Jayalalithaa said the government would release V.Sriharan alias Murugan, A.G. Perarivalan alias Arivu, T. Suthendraraja alias Santhan, Nalini, Robert Payas, Jayakumar and Ravichandran. All the seven are convicts in the former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi assassination case.

The Supreme Court Tuesday commuted the death sentence to Murugan, Perarivalan, and Santhan citing the inordinate delay in deciding their mercy petitions.